This page looks best with JavaScript enabled

Privacy Applications

 ·  ☕ 2 min read  ·  🐺 Devoalda

Introduction

This is a list of some of the applications I use on my devices that protects my privacy. Most of this applications are free(as in freedom and/or price) and open-sourced(FOSS).

Why use these applications?
Read more about privacy here

Many of these applications are recommended by r/privacytoolsIO / privacytools.io

Computer

Many of the configurations to strengthen security and digital privacy can be done on a computer/laptop. Here are some of the applications/configurations I use daily.

Operating system

archlinux

Arch Linux
I use Linux as my operating system daily to protect myself from Windows. Here is the Privacy Policy for Arch.

Browser

Firefox

Firefox
Firefox is FOSS and allows for many privacy addons to strengthen digital security of the user.

Add-ons

Here are some of the Add-ons I have in firefox:

Search Engines

I mainly use duckduckgo as my daily search engine, however I plan to host my own instance of searx in the future.

DNS

CloudflareDNS is my main DNS server, I may setup a cloud instance of PiHole with Unbound in the future

Mail

ProtonMail

ProtonMail
ProtonMail.com is an email service with a focus on privacy, encryption, security, and ease of use. ProtonMail is based in Genève, Switzerland.

VPN

ProtonVPN

ProtonVPN
ProtonVPN.com is a strong contender in the VPN space. ProtonVPN is based in Switzerland.

iOS

Here are some of the applications I use on my iOS devices daily

Browser

Firefox

Firefox
Firefox is FOSS and allows for many privacy configurations to strengthen digital security of the user.

Firefox Focus
I use Firefox for quick duckduckgo searches, so that cached cookies and history can be cleared after each search
.

2FA key management

Raivo OTP
FOSS 2FA key manager to prevent spying from proprietary software.

DNS Manager

DNSCloak
This application allows DNS management on IOS

VPN

ProtonVPN

ProtonVPN
ProtonVPN.com is a strong contender in the VPN space. ProtonVPN is based in Switzerland.

Mail

ProtonMail

ProtonMail
ProtonMail.com is an email service with a focus on privacy, encryption, security, and ease of use. ProtonMail is based in Genève, Switzerland.

Chat

Telegram

Telegram
Migrating my chats to Telegram for its privacy applications.

Reddit Client

Slide
FOSS Reddit client I use.

Summary

These are some of the applications I use daily to protect my digital life from the outside world. Most of these applications require further configuration to improve your privacy online.

Privacy matters; privacy is what allows us to determine who we are and who we want to be. -Edward Snowden

Share on

Devoalda
WRITTEN BY
Devoalda
Technophile